PALEO: Nose to No’s

NOSE TO NO’s

© SC Holland 2012

CROSS (fit)

The OTHER part of Paleo/primal seems to be the cross-fit part. So my daughter purposefully reminds me as she goes out the door with her weights and cute walking clothes on, usually accompanied by her husband or her niece. The husband explains that he walks ahead of her, more or less, so people won’t really think they are related. He just walks, but she does all sorts of funny walks and swings those weights around in strange ways. The niece is fine with that, doing backward walking, and strutting and other sorts of bizarre behaviors without shame or self-consciousness all around the neighborhood slopes and flat places.

I am not cross training, no matter how good an example they all are.

There is a ceiling to my docility when it comes to doing what my daughter says. She is sure of herself, and looks at me with a look she doubtless learned from me, and tells me what any reasonable person should do.

I have not yet run out of reasons. Excuses. Whatever.

Truth is, I am out of shape. Not fat, and not really lazy. But it has been a winter of sudden aging for me, with months of real illness that set me back. A nasty infection hid in my gum under a tooth causing really bad trouble. The dentist found it, though a bunch of doctors could not. Tooth out, it took a long time to heal, and it took a big dose of antibiotics to kill the bugs that had weakened me in pretty much of my whole gestalt! Then I had a “routine” colonoscopy. That was a hit to my already exhausted bod, wiping out my whole internal plumbing so that it still is not quite settled down.

The good news is that I am much improved with a good dose of pro-biotic and the introduction of Paleo / Primal eating, thanks to my persistently uber-persuasive daughter. The bad news is that she keeps telling me I really should do weight bearing exercises.

I keep telling her that I have a body that must not over-exert itself because of long-term fibromyalgia and possible Post Polio Syndrome. These are both things my regular MD folks have said I should pay attention to and listen to… and not to over-fatigue myself because it will make matters worse.

They recommend swimming, my past sport of choice, so as not to stress joints. Yes I have joint problems in my left knee and neck and back. It’s not that I have ever been inactive by choice. Before this recent illness I was single-handedly putting up and taking down two canopy Easy-Up’s each weekend at a Farmer’s Market and toting around all kinds of weights in the form of wood objects carved from large and small chunks of wood. Not child’s play for someone 74. My weight has been pretty steady at 138 for years, and I am currently wearing size 10-12 jeans, not out of line for a person my size.

So I may be soft right now, but not totally blob-like. It will take a while, and likely some swimming, to get me back to normal function. Or have I passed the place of no return?

It’s bugging me, but don’t tell my daughter.

Saturday I loaded and unloaded equipment from my wood shop up to a new location (closer to my daughter’s place.)  I had a helper, thank goodness, because I kept getting very light-headed and my back really acted up with pain. I was dizzy and short of breath and shakey with the effort Not good at all. Scarey.

So this is why I am rebelling when I have these nose-to-nose confrontations about cross-fit training. This is my beloved daughter standing up to her mom, and I am trying to hold my ground and take it easy on my aching back.

Who will win? What IS winning? And when do you choose to be proactive and take your health into your own hands and when do you take your MD’s advice ? Surely I can choose to “do no harm”, like Hippocrates? I mean that’s pro-active, isn’t it?

It’s a stand-off for now. Whose cave is it anyway?

And who do you think taught my daughter to be so stubborn! And who is thankful that she taught me paleo?

MeJane

PS:   THIS JUST IN on the PRO-EXERCISE side:   PALEO: a New York Times Article about Exercise and Sugar Substitutes…just a share.

1 Comment

Filed under Exercise, Family, Paleo, Stubbornness

One response to “PALEO: Nose to No’s

  1. My daughter reminds me that her exercise regimen is not technically real “cross fit” so I should make that distinction. She says it’s her own design for lazy exercisers. Well, we newbies do get a little confused, especially when we are resisting things and ranting about it. I still like the pun in CROSS (fit), so I’ll hang on to it, and hope that people will make comments just to boost my readership! :) Cheerfully, and loving my daughter a lot. MeJane

Leave a Reply

