Shall I Feed My Compost Hydrocodone?

(not Paleo related)

Recently I was given a prescription for a pain killer after a nasty dental surgery,  and I found it powerful to help me sleep through pain,  but horrible to get rid of when I wanted to.  I suffered withdrawal in the form of sleeplessness until I weaned myself off more slowly by taking less and less each time.  Now I have the greater part of these pills in my medicine cache, wondering whether to flush them, crush them, or simply feed them to my Compost Pile.

Why not let them be digested that way?  I spent some time in the shower trying to figure out if hydroco biodegrades when sent down our gullets,  and if so, why not let it biodegrade in the innards of a hot compost pile.  Same difference, it seems to me.

Why is is okay for me to send digested hydrocodone into the septic tank, but not okay for me to set it free in the environment?

I’m not MANUFACTURING the stuff, after all, and am not sending huge amounts down the water supply to my neighbors.

Anyone know?  I’m not fixating about this,  but I am asking rhetorically whether things designed to work in human digestion systems are really all that terrible to release back into nature.  Didn’t the ingredients exist in nature once anyway?

What do distillers do with the fermented mash?  All of a sudden I am alive with wonderings and lay-theory.

Anyone know?

Old Swimmer

1 Comment

Filed under Mysteries, Nature, NOT PALEO RELATED, The Why's, Uncategorized

One response to “Shall I Feed My Compost Hydrocodone?

  1. someone has suggested that such prescription drugs could be stashed in emergency shelters in case of world disasters. A pain pill might be a very good thing to have in an emergency shelter if all pharmacies were wiped out by natural or man-made disasters. This is, of course, not what it says on prescription packages, I realize, but it makes some sense, if one is stockpililng emergency food and other supplies, that one might want to stockpile medications, even if they are past pull date. my note: old swimmer

Leave a Reply

